Bodice, lining...how to attach straps

Just learning how to sew? Ask us for help. No question is too simple or complex.

Bodice, lining...how to attach straps

Postby becca24jg » January 3rd, 2009, 12:27 am

Ok, I am very new to sewing, and absolutely loving it one minute, so excited, and times like now ready to throw everything out the window in frustration.

I am currently working on a top. I have the square bodice cut and sewn on each side, I have the lining cut and sewn on each side, and I have the straps cut, just as directed. (Also have the bottom to attach to the bodice ready, but this is not where the problem lies.)

The directions say:
Pin the right side of the strap to the bodice front as marked on the pattern. Line up the edge of the strap with the top edge of the bodice. Baste in place 3/8" away from the edge.
Lining up the ede of the strap with the top edge of the back bodice pin the straps in place. Baste straps to bodice with a 3/8" seam.
Turn your bodice so the right side is facing in. Turn your lining so the right side is facing out. Place the lining on the inside of the bodice and pin it to the top edge. Machine stitch a 1/2" seam all the way around the top making sure to back tack at the beginning and end. Clip threads and turn so the wrong sides are together, pulling straps out.

OK...if I sew a 1/2" seam all the way around, this sews my straps in so how do I pull them out. Everything was going so perfect and I was so proud, and now I want to just cry. I just don't get this. And this being the first project on my own, is makes me think I will never get good at this.

Any advice anyone can give me, would be much appreciated. I have searched the internet, u-tube for video reference, everywhere and can't seem to find anything that is helping me understand how to do this.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Also,